Diamonds 101

Below you will find the 4 Cs of diamond selection: Carat, Cut, Color and Clarity. Choosing the right size and shape diamond is a decision that will last a lifetime. 


Diamond carat weight measures a diamond’s apparent size.

A metric “carat” is defined as 200 milligrams. Each carat is subdivided into 100 ‘points.’ This allows very precise measurements to the hundredth decimal place. A jeweler may describe the weight of a diamond below one carat by its ‘points’ alone.

Carat Comparison


Diamonds are renowned for their ability to transmit light and sparkle so intensely. We often think of a diamond’s cut as shape (round, heart, oval, marquise, pear), but what diamond cut actually does mean how well a diamond’s facets interact with light. Precise artistry and workmanship are required to fashion a stone so its proportions, symmetry and polish deliver the magnificent return of light only possible in a diamond.

Diamond Cut


Diamond grades are on a scale of D (colorless) through Z (light color). All D-Z diamonds are considered white, even though they contain varying degrees of color. True fancy colored diamonds (such as yellows, pinks, and blues) are graded on a separate color scale.

Diamond Color


Diamond clarity refers to the absence of these inclusions and blemishes. Diamonds without these birthmarks are rare, and rarity affects a diamond’s value.

Diamond Clarity Chart

A Variety of Shapes

Diamond Shapes

A Variety of Settings

Huffman Jewelers custom settings image

Pin It on Pinterest

Font made from Online Web Fontsis licensed by CC BY 3.0